Project Phoenix – God’s Gift to a JRPG Fan


There are but a few moments in his life when a man can properly identify a sign from a superior entity. After a long day -work in the morning, came back home to write the final chapter of S-Class, then an hour-long work out, then shower- I was relaxing in front of my laptop, and I decided to check good old Kickstarter. Since I’m preparing a video editorial for my Youtube Channel about the crowdfunding site and its twin IndieAGogo, you can bet your sweet moustaches that I’m an afictionado of this site, and the Game section in particular.

I had just backed a snarky looking game called Death Road to Canada, and that’s when I found Project Phoenix. After seeing the introductory video up above, I couldn’t help but raise my head to the sky and say ‘Whoever you are, whatever you look like, thank you OH. SO. MUCH!’

Final_Fantasy_VIIIIn case you don’t know about this particular side of me, I’m an avid gamer. No, really. And among the many genres, my favourite has always been RPGs, be it Western or Eastern. Although, I have a soft spot for the latter if only because I discovered them first. My first JRPG ever was Final Fantasy VIII. I still remember the review I read of it in my first Gaming magazine: ‘a bigger and prettier Final Fantasy VII‘. I know, that’s bull, but at the time I didn’t know any better. Anyway, from VIII, I discovered VII, then Suikoden II, and then the dam BROKE. There was no turning back.

ponyo_4So you can understand my frustration, having grown up with old Squaresoft, for the situation that JRPGs  face today. It seems that the only company who still manages to create something that not only looks good but also plays well is Atlus, and maybe Level 5. Ni no Kuni is a great game, even if a bit too childish for my tastes. When you make something in collaboration with Studio Ghibli, what can you expect? These are the guys who turned a movie containing the flooding of Japan into terminal cuteness, to use Doug Walker’s definition of it.

GroupSquare hasn’t been up to its old standards for a long time, and the names which I grew up with and that contributed to its greatness –Hironobu Sagakuchi and Nobuo Uematsu, among others- jumped ship. I was never into the Tales series, Phantasy Star also lost its luster, the .Hack series is over, and the less said about Suikoden V the better, especially since Suikoden IV is my favourite game in the series. It seems that most software houses lost sight of just what makes a JRPG a good JRPG. You just have to look at Hyperdimension Neptunia. I can’t remember a single JRPG released in the last few years that got to me as much as the ones of old, no matter how many pixels they throw at me.

With that premise, you can probably imagine my reaction at Project Phoenix. Holy. Freaking. God. Someone pinch me. How can I not be excited? How can I not be ecstatic? Did you read who is working on this thing? Hiroaki Valkyria Chronicles Yura? John Lord of the Rings Kurlander? Nobuo FREAKING Uematsu?! And they already hit the Stretch Goal for him to write even more music!!!

AzuregardEverything that I see just makes me wish I could travel forward in time and get this immediately! The art, the story premise, the gameplay video, everything just gives me hope, and enthusiasm! And not just for the game, but for what it will bring forward! With this kind of spearheading, that Kickstarter will do its best to come to Japan as well is a sure bet, and I can’t help but salivate at the possibilities…

Okay, okay, I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s just stop here. Let me finish by adding that the Kickstarter still has eleven days to go. If we really can’t get to that Uematsu x Kurlander x Eminence collaboration, let’s at least get us some explorable overworld? Pretty please?

About Meinos Kaen

Meinos Kaen is the secret author identity of one Simone Simeone, born and raised in Italy since anno domini 1988. You’ll never find a person with a harder accent to pin to a precise geographical location, be it Italian or English he’s speaking. God help us all if he ever manages to actually learn Japanese.
Video | This entry was posted in Memories of a Gamer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project Phoenix – God’s Gift to a JRPG Fan

  1. Becca M says:

    Project Phoenix looks AWESOME, thank you for sharing! I never would have found that otherwise!

Leave a Reply

