Youtube is going bollocks


friday_copyrightHello, thar. Meinos Kaen here, and welcome to my first ever experience with Youtube and their new ID System.

At midnight of December the Twelfth, just as I was tucking myself in, I checked my email. I received a notice that my most popular video, the first Kamen Rider Review video, had been blocked worldwide due to a copyright claim by Avex Entertainment regarding my usage of Kamen Rider Gaim’s theme song, Just Live More.

Peeved by the action and a bit sleepy, I decided to just roll with it, modify the backup copy of the video by removing the incriminating sound and substituting it. I won’t use the song in any of my videos any more. My reviews about a Kamen Rider Series won’t feature the show’s theme song.

005The thing is, to me it’s just a mild inconvenience. I can make my videos without using the theme song. The real star here is the show, which despite its faults, has really good actors and an interesting plot that has managed up to now to keep my attention. So, I will keep talking about it and them, and they will keep on getting exposure

Just Live More won’t get that exposure any more because Avex made a copyright claim about not even a full minute of the song. A piece that couldn’t have been used to make a pirated copy of it. Who the hell wants to listen to an incomplete song?

I get that the single was released just a few weeks ago and that they’re looking out for themselves, but in this case, since I wasn’t making any money from using the song nor was it possible for the use I made of it to contribute to pirating, this will just turn into loss of exposure and bad publicity for the song and Avex Entertainment.

oLd25rGAnd considering that most of my audience is from Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, United States and Japan -you guys rock, by the way- as in the territories where the song is more probable to sell… Well, Avex and YOUTUBE, with their screwed up new automatic ID system, have done and screwed up REAL BAD from a marketing and PR prospective.

What do you think it’s going to happen if these kind of instances keep on happening, particularly to people like Angry Joe? PewDiePie? FineBros? What’s going to stop Youtube’s direct competitors from making a more juicy and inviting way of monetization without all this bullshit about copyright? If that happens, Youtube is going to empty out, and fast, of all its content creators. The guys who made you big, who bring to Youtube most of their traffic.

There’s Vimeo, there’s Dailymotion, there’s BlipTV… The alternatives are already there, and they just need to make ONE change, ONE change, Youtube, and you’re going to empty out faster than an Irishman’s bladder after a night of drinking cider. And Ireland makes some damn good cider. And with them, your fucking sponsors will go too, because they go where the people go. This is the age where advertisement goes where the people are, not the fucking other way around anymore. You can’t dictate shit. In the age of the internet, people will just find an alternative, because Youtube is just a service. It’s not content. WE are the content.

blip-fb-logoMy videos will continue, because I love Kamen Rider, I’m really liking Gaim, just… No more Just Live More.

And just in case, I’m opening up a Dailymotion and Vimeo account, and I’m not making a BlipTV one because they’re currently closed up to new content. But if this trend continues, I don’t think it’s going to be that way for much longer.

Meinos Kaen out!

About Meinos Kaen

Meinos Kaen is the secret author identity of one Simone Simeone, born and raised in Italy since anno domini 1988. You’ll never find a person with a harder accent to pin to a precise geographical location, be it Italian or English he’s speaking. God help us all if he ever manages to actually learn Japanese.
This entry was posted in Editorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

